And the Molecule of the Year Award goes to…

Published on

Annually, molecule of the yearSyncom grants the Molecule of the Year Award to the most profound of its many challenging research projects that are executed for its clients. The prize is a great recognition, acknowledging the creativity and stamina of the team of chemists that drove the project to a successful completion. This year the proud winners are Wolter ten Hoeve, Wouter van der Neut, Jochem van Herpt, Rory van der Hulst, Maxime Kraaijeveld, Belen Bazan, Lisette Bos-Slump and Jan Koek for their contribution in the route design, process R&D and successful scale up of a complex and promising novel API.

“The existing synthesis of this compound was unamenable to scale-up” says Wolter ten Hoeve, principal scientist and co-founder of Syncom, “A whole new route had to be developed. Although the new route involved some delicate chemistry, it appeared to be well-suited for scale-up, as was proven by the ‘large-scale’ team of Syncom. High-purity material was prepared for tox studies using the developed chemistry. The process developed by Syncom was subsequently successfully transferred for further scale up and cGMP manufacturing. “

Syncom is proud to have a large team of talented and skilled scientists and would like to congratulate this year, well-deserved, winners for this excellent accomplishment.

Do you have a question?

Do you want to stay updated on Syncom’s activities? Follow us on LinkedIn or contact us here.